Established in 1795, the Town encompasses a wealth of history, starting with the settlement of the Native Americans of the Wappingers tribe, to Sybil Ludington’s famous horseback ride through Carmel summoning her father’s “Ludington’s Regiment” to hold off a British attack on Danbury, CT in 1777. The Town of Carmel also includes several registered historical sites such as the Gilead Cemetery, the Old Red Mills Historic Park, the Putnam County Courthouse and the Reed Memorial Library, nestled near the picturesque Lake Gleneida.

There are 38,000 residents that reside in the Town of Carmel. The Town also includes three hamlets, Carmel, Mahopac and Mahopac Falls. In addition to being part of the Hudson Valley Region, the Town of Carmel holds many beautiful parks and lakes, including Sycamore Park, and Chamber Park which is located near the shores of Lake Mahopac, and ten miles of the North County Trailway which sits on parts of the “Old Put” railroad.

Information Copyright 2023, Multiple Listing Service of Long Island, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
The source of the displayed data is either the property owner or public record provided by non-governmental third parties. It is believed to be reliable but not guaranteed. This information is provided exclusively for consumers’ personal, non-commercial use.
The data relating to real estate for sale on this web site comes in part from the Broker Reciprocity Program of the Multiple Listing Service of Long Island, Inc.